Skip to content

Early morning fog

March 14, 2014

early morning

We’re looking after our son’s dog while he’s in Tunisia taking part in the Tuareg Rally (he makes a brief and rather entertaining appearance during this clip).

So these days I rise earlier than usual to take Bess for a walk across Palace Fields. One morning we saw the sun rise, another morning a young swan flew noisily overhead. This morning we plunged into thick fog. Taking a cue from Dave Bonta, a  poet whose work I greatly admire, I wrote about it in 3verse form.

Seven posts ahead
the fence I’m following
fades into whiteness

Black, out of the fog
the dog trots back
red collar, red ball

Above, unseen
a raven speaks
another answers

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Jane permalink
    March 14, 2014 11:03 pm

    Beautiful, Ama. I love the way you “paint” fragments of form, colour, even sound, just the way fog isolates and simplifies experience. I must get up earlier!
    J.

  2. March 14, 2014 11:25 pm

    Thank you Jane. Even in fog, it’s so often the best part of the day. I’m hoping the early-rising habit will stick when Bess goes home!

  3. March 16, 2014 12:52 am

    Thanks for the kind words, and I’m pleased to see the 3verse form taking wing! Wonderfully minimal.

  4. March 16, 2014 9:37 am

    It’s spreading! Read Mavina Baker’s 3verse here:
    http://mavinabaker.blogspot.co.uk/2014/03/rowboat.html

Leave a comment