Skip to content

Folding spirals

October 20, 2017

Inspired by Paula Beardell Krieg, I’ve spent the last two evenings folding spirals. First I followed her instructions:

4 spirals

Then I made my book on the theme “Nostalgia” from an old hydrographic chart, with a poem rubber-stamped on the plain side of the paper:

 

Then I wondered what would happen if I cut one long edge of the paper on a slant, and tried folding it in different ways. With the diagonal folds sloping one way I got a space in the middle. The other way, no space (picture 6).

 

I also tried making the ninety-degree folds at right angles to the sloping edge:

 

Then I experimented with making the diagonal folds slope symmetrically about the centre. The green one has standard proportions (i.e. A4 cut in half lengthwise, or larger or smaller in proportion); the other is two and a half times as long.

 

Finally I made two little standard spirals from left-over pieces of the chart. I learnt that if you want one side to show on the top and bottom, you have to make the ninety-degree valley-folds on that side.

two little ones

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 20, 2017 11:42 pm

    What a great exploration! That great one is especially exquisite. I’ve tried out a few variations, including the slanting top edge, and messing with the rectangle proportions, but it definitely hadn’t occurred to me to make the diagonal folds symmetrical around the center. Just brilliant,.

  2. October 22, 2017 2:58 am

    I meant to write “that GREEN one is especially exquisite.” BTW I shared this post of yours on my twitter feed.

  3. October 22, 2017 8:57 am

    Thank you Paula. I had a lot of fun with this.

Leave a Reply

