Skip to content

Bookmarks: day 23, and complicity

March 22, 2017

Samantha Muntifering, USA, made these bookmarks.

Samantha 3

Last night I dreamed I was in that car on Westminster Bridge, and I was screaming at the driver to stop and he couldn’t hear me, he could not even see me. Today I feel it was a dream about complicity, the collective guilt of a colonial past and a meddling present, and individual guilt about not being sufficiently politically active and personally interactive. Ok, I’ve joined a support group for Syrian refugees, I stop and chat to a headscarfed woman who sells the Big Issue and I give her somewhat less than the price of a cup of coffee most days but I haven’t really engaged with her or bothered to learn more than a few words of her language. It isn’t enough.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

