Skip to content

Prufrock is 100

June 2, 2015
tags:

selected002 This little paperback, published in 1948, was given to me by my literary grandmother when I was 15 or 16. I remember that the poems both fascinated and disturbed me. I kept going back to Prufrock and to The Waste Land. The book has travelled with me through many changes of address since then. This morning I heard, by chance, Alan Yentob’s 45-minute Radio 4 documentary marking the centenary (on 15 June) of the publication of The Love Song of J Alfred Prufrock, and was surprised how much of the poem I could quote. This excellent piece of radio is on the i-player now. Mat Collison’s short film, with Eliot reading the poem, can be seen here.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Karen Young permalink
    June 2, 2015 9:35 pm

    Let us go then you and I when the evening is spread out against the sky, like a patient etherised upon a table…… Or something like that – I remember it very well too and did a painting inspired by it about 15 years ago! Xx

Leave a Reply

