Skip to content

Coincidence

April 4, 2015

Yesterday, feeling too ill to do anything requiring physical effort, I opened the London Review of Books and made an erasure poem from one of the articles. My rule is that I can use any words (or parts of words) so long as they appear in the same order as in the original.

In the hands of a skilled poet (Jen Bervin, Dave Bonta) this practice can produce outstanding work. For me it’s a liberating exercise. I thought, as I followed “one green” with “rose”, I’ve never seen a green rose. It didn’t bother me; I wasn’t concerned with botanical correctness.

This morning I received a bouquet of flowers. It included one green rose.

And this afternoon a neighbour came to tea and did magical things to my feet, and now I feel a little better. (Whose last words were those?)

Biographie – from LRB 19 March 2015 p28
1
Never left to chance
the double life
disappearing into the sea

one green rose
a false address
a century of gestures
habits of love

chance had become fate

2
The woman walks up and down
walks along beaches
moving in space
dancing and swimming
walking a compromise
homage to the journey

3
We are material
for films that were never made
the screenplay cancelled
replaced by a monologue

we are locked in
innocent but crooked
damning everyone
and trying to do it well

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Karen Young permalink
    April 5, 2015 7:05 am

    What a fabulous coincidence and result. I’ll blow you a kiss as I pass your door this morning – feel better very soon.x

  2. April 5, 2015 12:50 pm

    love it! Will do this exercise for my writing blog today too…

  3. April 14, 2015 11:20 pm

    So sorry to know you were not well, Ama, I hope you’re feeling much better by now.

    Admirable, the result of your liberating thoughts! The erasure poetry is an amazing idea, I had never heard of it before.
    And a green rose is something so unexpected, I’ve never seen one either!

  4. April 15, 2015 9:27 pm

    Thank you my dears, and yes, I’m quite well now!

  5. Wendy permalink
    July 14, 2015 6:37 pm

    I am very ignorant, never having known about erasure poems before you read your, Ama. I must have a go…

Trackbacks

  1. Always in need of a conflict | ways with words in the city of Wells

Leave a Reply

