Skip to content

Visible mending

March 11, 2015
That cardigan is a disgrace, I told him, let me mend it for you. I love mending.
He’d asked his cleaner to mend it and she’d told him to throw it away and get a new one.
You can still throw it away if you don’t like my mending, I said. So he let me take it. There were big holes at both elbows and extensive moth-damage. But it was once a good Merino-wool cardigan. I patched it with bits taken from another wool cardigan that my aunt had discarded. A stitch in time, I couldn’t help reflecting, would have saved more than nine! but it would not have been so colourful …
I’ll be returning it to him on Sunday. Will he like what I’ve done? Watch this space!
Visible mending
Knitting is very conducive to thought. It is nice to knit a while, put down the needles, write a while, then take up the sock again. Dorothy Day
3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 12, 2015 11:44 am

    gorgeous, unique – but will he wear it? ah, there’s the rub…

  2. March 12, 2015 2:16 pm

    I’m very tempted to send some of mine to you for the same treatment, delightful.

  3. April 26, 2015 9:02 pm

    He likes it! He even wore it to his grand-children’s christening!

Leave a Reply

