Skip to content

Spring is here!

April 3, 2013

And how do I know? Because I wake to sunshine instead of rain. Because for the first time in six months I want to  go for a run before breakfast. Because the windflowers have started to bloom in Park Wood.

And because the migrant pages that flew south to California in December have come back to me with Beau’s signature upon them, and a batch of books is ready to send out.

IMG_6871

Park Wood

IMG_6873

This is the view north from the field above the wood. Foreground: Park Wood East. Middle distance: Wells Cathedral. Horizon: Mendip Hills.

IMG_6877

The wood on one side of the main path is mostly beech and hazel. In this photo the windflowers are just beginning to make a carpet of green and white.

IMG_6876

The woodland on the other side of the path is dominated by ancient oaks whose branches are fringed with epiphytic polypody ferns.

IMG_6878

There are primroses at the edge of the wood.

IMG_6874

I’m looking from the edge of the wood across Palace Fields to the Cathedral. Here I’m five minutes’ walk from home.

IMG_6881

Blackthorn flowers: there will be sloe gin! The recipe begins Buy a bottle of gin and drink half of it …

IMG_6872

Bookbinding at the Abbey

I’ll be at Glastonbury Abbey, making books in the Visitor Centre on Thursday 4th April from 10am to 4pm. This is in conjunction with the exhibition “Holyest Erth”. Do come and say hello if you’re in the area.

IMG_6869

Three indigo notebooks ready to be Coptic-sewn.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Karen Young permalink
    April 3, 2013 7:57 am

    Hope springs eternal – and there it is in your woods – how lovely – hope to be with you at some time on 4th for some Coptic practice

  2. April 3, 2013 5:42 pm

    Ah yes, I know those woods – there’s a part at the end of the footpath from the road where we used to go looking for bears (with my kids when young). Sadly, we never found any.
    Don’t you just love those epiphytic polypody ferns?! The trees’ own gardens.
    I don’t think I’ll be able to make the Abbey demonstration this time, sorry.
    Meanwhile some brave forget-me-nots are already tentatively blue-ing patches of my garden, along with the spreading primmyroses and dwarf daffodils. The sunshine is good, but we do need that wicked wind to drop soon…

  3. April 5, 2013 9:36 am

    My thanks to Rosalie, Maggie, Thalia, Karen, Renchi, Vanessa (and their beautiful grand-daughter), other interested visitors whose names I don’t know, and of course to the lovely staff and volunteers at the Abbey for a very enjoyable day yesterday. The time passed very quickly for me. A warm bright day indoors, but the wind outside was homicidal and I felt for the folks living in tents and benders. At least three of these in Park Wood.
    And Jo – I’ve not seen bears in this particular wood, but there are badgers, fox and deer and a pair of ravens.

Trackbacks

  1. 51: Starts and Ends with Book Wraps. | Almofate's Likes

Leave a Reply

