Skip to content

ways to reach the open boat

January 4, 2013

… is the title of the tenth volume of poems by Beau Beausoleil.

on the desk

Beau and I have been working on it for just over a year, a time of heavy memories, stories like stones that each of us carried from a distance to put them down together at the centre of the forest, under the wild bare branches, as poems, letters and books. It’s what we’ll remember of 2012.

Hands 1

And now the chapbook is in production. It has been a fruitful collaboration. I’ve learned much and can honestly say that I’ve enjoyed every stage of the adventure, from the first steps into the river of these extraordinary poems, through working on the layout, sourcing the paper and experimenting with designs for the cover, to binding each copy. I’m still swimming. Come on in; the water’s lovely.

Colophon

Signed copies are available in the USA now from Beau (overlandbooks at earthlink dot net) and in UK and Europe very soon from me (barleybooks at hotmail dot co dot uk) – just as soon as I receive a batch of signed pages back from California. The price is $15 or £9.50, and we will pay the postage!

Postage costs within  and from UK are currently being generously subsidised by Zen Overland. Thanks, Gabriel, for supporting the arts!

p 6-7

That little bone-folder is a piece of bone – probably sheep – that I found on a remote Shetland beach. It needed minimal fettling to make a tool that fits my hand.

smallboat

crossing

there are ways
to reach
the open boat

but each moment
is less certain

there are ways
through the ruins
of the tongue

but then one is stranded
in the visible

there are ways
to reach
the open boat

but I cannot contain
my memory

Beau Beausoleil

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 22, 2013 4:09 am

    Looks like a terrific project.

  2. January 22, 2013 9:21 pm

    Thanks for dropping in!

  3. March 21, 2013 9:50 pm

    I love this poem. I see somewhere else you talk about Ogham. There is something runic about this verse. It brings to my mind the strange eyed Lewis Chessmen and of things apprehended tangentially. How can I buy the book please ? I think you know Rachel ! Hopefully we’ll meet someday. John.

  4. March 22, 2013 8:43 am

    Thank you John. I love Beau’s work too, and you seem to have seen into the heart of it. The book is still available and I’ll e-mail you about it.
    And yes, I’ve known lovely Rachel since she was a schoolgirl in Wells!
    Your blog makes me long for the islands.

Leave a Reply

