Skip to content

January

January 10, 2012

At the gateway of the new year, looking both ways but mostly forward, especially to this year’s big projects, which are

  • A chapbook for a San Francisco poet whose work I love (if I didn’t I wouldn’t be doing it!)
  • A contribution to BookArtObject’s Edition 4

I can tell by the way I’ve been getting ideas in my dreams that I’m pretty immersed in both of these.

Today I’ve been working on a birthday present for a friend. We have a lot in common: she is a poet and a maker of books, a gardener and knitter, a walker and wild-swimmer and a lover of birds. This is a tiny concertina book in a Japanese-style box portfolio. The plants are invisible because they are imaginary … Lady’s smirk, Shepherd’s curse, Tart’s-tongue fern …

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 21, 2012 4:10 am

    I just thought I’d pop over and say hello and welcome to BAO. But I got side-tracked by all your lovely books!

  2. January 25, 2012 10:47 am

    love your plant names- are their more? maybe snitchwort and sneezles

  3. January 25, 2012 4:03 pm

    Yes, Deggie, from Annual Matrimony to Zillions, dozens of them! I had such fun making them up. It was an idea borrowed from the poet Alec Finlay, which is why I don’t sell this book. Most of them are loosely based on real names, which makes them more amusing to the reader who knows a little botany. I can see you know your plants.
    I do like your labyrinths and baskets.

Leave a Reply

