Skip to content

About Barley Books

January 10, 2012

Hello! I’m Ama Bolton. I live in England’s smallest city, Wells, and I make books.

You can e-mail me at barleybooks(at)hotmail.co.uk

Until last year I was a member of Bron Bradshaw’s weekly Book Class at The Dove Studios. Now the class has metamorphosed into ABCD: Artists’ Book Club at the Dove, and we meet once a month to share ideas, news, skills and food.

For the last three years I’ve had the immense privilege of joining The Travelling Bookbinder for a weekend workshop at Bressay Lighthouse. This is  in Shetland, a 36-hour journey from my home and a place I love for its austere beauty and for the good friends I’ve made there.

Why Barley Books? I inherited the surname Arnott from my father’s forebears who lived in the Kingdom of Fife. The name comes from the Gaelic word ornacht meaning barley.

From Grandfather, old soldier, long absent, came my first surname
meaning “barley”
: green turning pale gold in the brief Northern summer
for milling and malting, for bannocks and whisky and beer
.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 21, 2012 11:46 am

    I live in the kingdom of Fife. Hav’nt spotted any royal personages though !! I am in group 5 (I think – I keep forgetting)of bookartobject. Hope your book goes well for you.

  2. February 3, 2012 3:54 pm

    I love the Blog.
    Good for you, taking the time to put it all together. I know the time it must have taken.
    You make us all proud, we’re extremely lucky to have you.

  3. February 24, 2012 10:43 pm

    thank you for the kind comment, cheerz.
    olek.

Leave a Reply

